

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

AUTOMOTIVE HALL OF FAME AWARD CEREMONY RECOGNIZES MOBILITY INDUSTRY INNOVATORS, INFLUENCERS

DEARBORN, MICH. – June 23, 2021 – The 2020/2021 Automotive Hall of Fame's Induction and Awards Ceremony, taking place on July 22, 2021, will recognize innovators and influencers from across the global mobility industry. This year's class mirrors the evolution of the automotive industry and is comprised of a diverse group of visionaries.

"This class of awardees and inductees is the Automotive Hall of Fame's most diverse in terms of geographical region, race, gender and industry sector. Adding to that, we have added a new award – Mobility Innovator Award," said Ramzi Hermiz, chairman of the Automotive Hall of Fame Board of Directors. "It is our goal to recognize all individuals who have made clear and compelling contributions that helped shape the automotive industry."

2020/2021 Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees

Induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame is reserved for noteworthy individuals whose efforts have created, shaped and changed the automotive and mobility market. It is considered the single greatest honor an individual can receive in the automotive industry.

Since the postponement of the Induction and Awards Ceremony in 2020, three additional inductees have been added to the Class of 2020/2021:

- C.R. and Frederick Patterson C.R. Patterson & Sons (later the Greenfield Bus Body Company).
 Founded in the 1920s, this car company was the first, and only, Black-owned and operated car manufacturing company. It was known for high quality and an integrated workforce.
- Charles Wiggins, who was barred from participating in white-only events, including the
 Indianapolis 500, led in the parallel Colored Speedway Association (CSA) championships,
 becoming a four-time winner of the Gold and Glory Sweepstakes. Known nationally as the
 "Negro King of Speed," Charlie was a notable driver and an exceptional mechanic and engineer.

The previously announced inductees of this year's class include:

- Honorary Chairman Mong-Koo Chung, the innovative leader and former chairman, who grew Hyundai/Kia into the world's fifth largest car manufacturer and established the Hyundai brand synonymous for quality and reliability.
- Thomas Gallagher, the former chairman and president of Genuine Parts Corporation who successfully championed the independent owner model of NAPA stores, promoting distribution models that kept stores competitive and rooted in their communities, and advocated right-torepair legislation.
- Jay Leno, founder of the Emmy Award-winning series, "Jay Leno's Garage." Leno is capturing generations of automotive enthusiasts through his passion for all things automotive.
- Helene Rother, known for her impeccable taste in design, Rother moved the post-war car
 market from interiors designed for utility to ones designed for luxury and sophistication. She
 was also the first woman hired in the styling department of General Motors.

Mobility Innovator Awardee

Introduced in 2020, the Mobility Innovator Award recognizes the outstanding work an individual has accomplished to introduce new technologies and services that are redefining mobility.

Harold Goddijn, CEO of TomTom and a member of its management board

2021 Distinguished Service Citation Awardees

The Distinguished Service Citation recognizes individuals who have had a significant positive impact on the industry or their respective organizations.

- Sir Lewis Hamilton, Professional Driver, Formula One
- Ray Scott, CEO, Lear Corporation

2021 Industry Influencer Awardees

The Industry Influencer Award recognizes individuals who are influencing and leading through their actions, innovations and visible positions on issues pertinent to the automotive industry and its future.

- Jim Baumbick, Vice President, Enterprise Product Line Management, Strategy, and Planning,
 Ford Motor Company
- Laurent Borne, President & CTO, Stoneridge
- Nelda J. Connors, Founder & CEO, Strategic Partner, Pine Grove Holdings, LLC
- Chris Ludwig, Vice President, EPIC Experience Team, HARMAN International
- Ben Volkow, CEO, Otonomo
- Deborah Wahl, Chief Marketing Officer, General Motors

Event Details

The Automotive Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony will be held Thursday, July 22 at The ICON, 200 Walker St., Detroit. Individual tickets and event sponsorships are currently available and can be purchased online at www.automotivehalloffame.org/sponsorship

Additional questions or concerns please contact: Margarite Fourcroy at mfourcroy@thedrivingspirit.org.

About the Automotive Hall of Fame

The Automotive Hall of Fame tells moving stories of those who have made outstanding contributions to the automotive industry. Founded in 1939, the Automotive Hall of Fame has honored 762 individuals from around the world, that have impactful and important to automotive and mobility industry. The Automotive Hall of Fame is located at 21400 Oakwood Blvd in Dearborn, Michigan and is open to the public for tours. You can also visit the Automotive Hall of Fame online at automotivehalloffame.org or on our Facebook and Instagram pages.

Source

Automotive Hall of Fame

Media Contact

Shelly Otenbaker, shelly@waypointmc.com, 248-506-6696

Disclaimer: The Automotive Hall of Fame believes the information contained herein to be accurate at the time of release. However, AHF may upload new or updated information if required and assumes that it is not liable for the accuracy of any information interpreted and used by the reader.

###