Hall History

Hall History

At the Automotive Hall of Fame, nestled in the heart of Dearborn, Michigan, we proudly celebrate the visionaries and trailblazers who have shaped the automotive industry. Our journey began in 1939 as we committed to preserving the legacies of early automotive pioneers. Over the decades, we evolved into the Automotive Hall of Fame, expanding our mission to honor innovators, inventors, and influential figures from every corner of the automotive world.

We officially opened our doors in 1971, and since then, we have inducted over 800 remarkable individuals who have left an indelible mark on the industry. Automotive legends grace our halls, their stories inspiring countless visitors. Our museum offers a rich tapestry of exhibits, showcasing classic cars, historical documents, and interactive displays that bring the history of automotive innovation to life.

Through our educational programs and events, we strive to inspire future generations, celebrating the past while driving towards a future of endless possibilities on the road. We are more than a museum; we are a living testament to the spirit of innovation and excellence that drives the automotive industry forward.

We’re within the MotorCities National Heritage Area, an affiliate of the National Park Service dedicated to preserving and promoting the automotive and labor heritage of Michigan.

National Heritage Areas are places where natural, cultural, historic, and scenic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape.

Hall of Fame Timeline

The Automobile Old Timers organization is launched in October at the Lexington Hotel in Manhattan with the mission to perpetuate the memories of the early auto pioneers.

AOT awards its first Distinguished Service Award to honor automotive people from all parts of the worldwide automotive industry.

The Automobile Old Timers adopt new goals to promote safety on highways and streets, preserve automotive history and emphasize education through increased cooperation with museums and universities, and present citations to distinguished individuals in the automobile industry and highway transport.

Automobile Old Timers becomes the “Automotive” Old Timers to include the inventors, engineers, stylists, manufacturers, dealers and “all others whose combined talents keep America awheel.”

AOT moves their national headquarters to the NADA Building in Washington, D.C, imagining the establishment of an Automotive Hall of Fame and Museum in the nation’s capital.

Walter P. Chrysler, Henry Ford, Charles Kettering and Alfred P. Sloan become the first individuals to receive the Induction Award and be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame.

AOT reorganizes, changing their name to “Automotive Organization Team” to more wholly represent the people of the industry and to appeal to a younger generation of up-and-coming leaders. In May, Northwood University in Midland, Michigan, becomes the new home of the Automotive Organization Team.

The first permanent Hall of Fame building is dedicated at Northwood University on October 29.

The first Young Leader & Excellence Award was presented. This award reflected the Automotive Hall of Fame’s commitment to the future of the motor vehicle industry.

The Automotive Organization Team officially changes their name to the Automotive Hall of Fame to fit the institutional mission.

The Industry Leader of the Year Award is first presented. The award is nominated and awarded only by the Board of Directors.

The construction site of a new Hall of Fame building in Dearborn, Michigan is dedicated as part of American Automobile Centennial Week.

The new Automotive Hall of Fame facility is opened on August 16 in Dearborn, Michigan.

The Automotive Hall of Fame celebrates its 75th Anniversary.

The Automotive Hall of Fame celebrates its 80th Anniversary.

Sign up for our mailing list