You’re Invited

June 15, 2016

Back to Stories

You’re invited to the 2016 Induction & Awards Gala Ceremony

This past February, renowned automotive analyst John McElroy held a special presentation at the Automotive Hall of Fame titled “How The Automotive Industry Is About To Turn Upside Down.” It highlighted the enormous disruption facing our industry in the coming decade. Of course, McElroy is not the only one talking about this. GM Chairman and CEO Mary Barra believes the industry will experience more change in the next five years than it has in the last 50 years.

So I think it is appropriate that the 2016 Induction & Awards Ceremony will induct four people who already epitomize disruption and change in the industry:

• Bertha Benz – Bertha Benz (1849-1944), the wife and business partner of automobile inventor, Carl Benz (1844-1929), was the driving force behind the invention of the automobile. She was neither an engineer nor an inventor, but she must be mentioned at the same time as her husband. They will become the first husband and wife to be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame. Carl was inducted in 1984.

• Roy Lunn – Roy Lunn is an engineer with a role in numerous historically important cars. He is the Godfather of the world-class GT40, which swept first, second and third places at Le Mans fifty years ago, ending Enzo Ferrari’s domination of endurance sports car racing. At American Motors, Lunn developed what would become the lighter and stronger Jeep XJ (Cherokee and Wagoneer), which remained in production for 18 years with total production of nearly 3 million.

• Alan Mulally – Alan Mulally is credited with one of the greatest turnarounds in American business history and has spent most of his career disrupting the status quo. At Boeing, he led the team that created the first all-digital airplane, the Boeing 777. He then took an epic gamble at Ford by approving the first aluminum-body pick-up truck. Mulally guided the Ford team in working together on a compelling vision, comprehensive strategy and relentless implementation of the One Ford plan to successfully guide the company through the U.S. financial crisis and restore Ford’s status as one of the world’s leading automakers.

• Ralph Nader – Ralph Nader is a renowned automotive safety advocate. Fifty years ago, as a young lawyer, he shook the auto world with his book “Unsafe At Any Speed” that would change the auto industry forever. Less than a year later, Congress created the Federal safety agency that became the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NITSA), an agency whose stated mission was to save lives, prevent injuries and reduce collisions.

We are also presenting Matt Simoncini, President and CEO of Lear Corp., with our Industry Leader of the Year Award. Mike Manley, head of Jeep and Ram brands, COO APAC Region at FCA Group, will receive the Distinguished Service Citation. We will also recognize our Celebrated Alumni who have significant induction aniversaries this year.

Tickets, tables and sponsorships are available for purchase. We hope you see you on July 21 at Cobo Center for an incredible evening.

Bill Chapin

President, Automotive Hall of Fame

Sign up for our mailing list